Packaging Schedule

PLEASE NOTE

 packing days  packing location  packing fees

All packs are scheduled for:

  • Tuesdays & Wednesdays
    6:30-8:00pm
  • Saturdays | 10:00-11:30am
We are located on the Northeast corner of Minnesota Ave & 33rd St, on the East end of the Avera Living Well Center (see map) As much as we would like everyone to be able to pack meals for free...we must request donations because we rely completely on your funds to purchase all of the the ingredients and supplies and pay for shipping costs.
  • Adult | *Kids Against Hunger suggests $20-25/person
  • Youth | (high school and younger): $10-$15/person (as long as our youth fund lasts)
  • Non-profit organization | Please email us about our "scholarship funds"

*If you would like to schedule a packing event, please check the schedule below and
 request a packing date from Jeff Behrend.

*The dates listed on the schedule are dates that are already reserved.

Upcoming Schedule of Packing Events

 

Happy Holidays!!!

 

Check you calenders, dates are filling up!!!

 

 

  

Please check out the packing details above and then . . .

*** click here to request a packing date ***

 

ALLERGY WARNING: SOY PRODUCTS USED

 PLEASE NO OPEN TOE SHOES 

 

 

Dates below are reserved: Use this form to request a packing date  
 
Date Time Organization | Family | Group Group Size Hosted by/ # of meals packed
our schedule        

 

 

Meals Distributed to:

Sioux Falls BackPack program

To Haiti | Guatemala | USA | Zambia | Nepal

 

 

                          2017  
Dec 2, Sat 10-11:30am Calvery Reformed Church, Jennifer 24 2,160
Dec 5, Tues 6:30-8pm

PREMIER Bankcard, Susan

Augie Institues of Healthcare, Mary

33

10

6,912

Dec 6, Wed 6:30-8:30pm Gloria Dei High School, Sandy

45

12,096
Dec 9, Sat 10-11:30am NRC Homeschool Group, Anna 26 4,536
Dec 12, Tues 9-11am Esurance, Shannon 30 Jeff
Dec 12, Tues 6:30-8pm Avera, Jolene 40 Skylar
Dec 13, Wed 6:30-8pm

Hilltop UMC, Kris

BZUMC Youth Group, Kathy

20

10

Kallie
Dec 15, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kim 10 Jeff
Dec 16, Sat 10-11:30am

Warkenthien Cousins, Mackenzie

Our Saviours Lutheran, Sandy

25

15

 
Dec 18, Mon 6:30-8pm Girl Scout Troop 40294, Nicole 20 Skylar
Dec 19, Tues 6:30-8pm Harrisburg National Honor Society, Rachel 24 Skylar
Dec 20, Wed 6:30-8pm Christ Lutheran Hartford, Dave 45 Skylar
Dec 27, Wed 6:30-8pm Dakota Alliance Soccer Club - U13 Girls 40 Dan
   

                                       2018

   
Jan 8, Mon 4-5:30pm Tea Area High School Girls BasketBall, Ryan 30-35 Dan
Jan 9, Tues 6:30-8pm Suzan B Anthoney Elementary, Jamie 45  
Jan 10, Wed 6:30-8pm Spirit of Joy Confirmation, Lauire 40 Dan
Jan 17, Wed 6:30-8pm LuVerne CRC GEMS, Nicole 33 Dan
Jan 22, Mon 6:30-8pm Harrisburg Wrestling Assoc, Charlie 30 Dan
Jan 23, Tues 6:30-8pm Harrisburg Wrestling Assoc, Charlie 30 Dan
Jan 24, Wed 6:30-8pm  St Micheals Perish Youth, Rhonda 60 Dan
Jan 26, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kim 10

Jan 27, Sat

10-11:30am American Reformed Church Youth, Christine 45 Dan
Jan 31, Wed 7-8:30 2nd Reformed Church Hartford, Keith 30  
Feb 7, Wed 6:30-8pm First Reformed Church Youth, Tanner 30 Dan
Feb 14, Wed  6:30-8pm Hilltop UMC, Kris 30 Dan
Feb 17, Sat TBD Fairmont Area Pack, Karen 600
Feb 21, Wed 6:30-8pm Brandon Lutheran, Dan 36 Dan
Feb 23, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kim 10
Feb 24, Sat 10-11:30 Trinity Lutheran Jesus and Me Youth, Michelle 25 Dan
Feb 26, Mon 6:30-8pm Harrisburg National Honor Society, Rachel 24 Dan
Feb 27, Tues 6:30-8pm Sioux Empire Federal Credit Union, Patricia 30 Dan
Feb 28, Wed 6:30-8pm Brandon Lutheran, Dan 36 Dan 
Mar 3, Sat 10-11:30am First Reformed Church, Ross 60  
Mar 6, Tues 6:30-8pm Alyssa Boscaljon small group 10  
Mar 7, Wed 6:30-8pm Brandon Lutheran, Dan 36  
Mar 10, Sat 10-11:30am Sibley First Presbyterian Church, Kris 35  
Mar 13, Tues 6:30-8pm Avera, Jolene 40  
Mar 14, Wed

6:30-8pm

Brandon Lutheran Church, Dan

36

 
Mar 17, Sat 10-11:30am West Central Baptist Church, David 20  
Mar 21, Wed 6:30-8pm Third Ave Youth, Heather 30  
Mar 16, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kin 10  
Mar 22, Thurs 6:30-8pm Stan Graber Financial, Stan 30  
Mar 28, Wed 6:30-8pm 3rd Ave Squared Youth Group, Shannon 30  
Apr 3, Tues 6:30-8pm Click Rain, James 25  
Apr 4, Wed 6:30-8pm St Micheals, Rhonda 60  
Apr 4-5, Wed TBD Marshall Area Pack, Julie **Off Site 500  
Apr 5, Wed TBD SDSU, Morgan**Off Site 400  
Apr 14, Sat 10-11:30am Hope Lutheran, Amy 32  
Apr 20, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kim 10  
Apr 25, Wed 6:30-8pm Spirit of Joy Confirmation, Laurie 45  
May 7, Mon 9am-10:30am SD Govenerns Office,  40-50  
May 18, Fri 1:45-3pm All City Elementary, Kim 10  
June 16, Sat 8am-1pm The Ransom Church, Kellen 200  
June 20, Wed 6:30-8pm Holy Cross Lutheran Church, Marilyn 30  
Oct 23, Tues 6:30-8pm Holy Cross Lutheran Church, Marilyn 30  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Raise Awareness

  • Just talk about Kids Against Hunger to your family and friends. You’d be surprised at how many people want to help when they learn about how we are feeding the hungry and starving children of the world.
  • Volunteer to give a short talk on Kids Against Hunger to your church, service club, book club, anywhere you meet with others.
  • Use your social media –Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, blog, etc. to talk about Kids Against Hunger and invite people to visit the Kids Against Hunger web site for more information.

 

Volunteer Opportunities

"I usually turn the channel when I see commercials about starving children. It makes me too sad. But something about what you are doing touched me and I want to help. I am only 16, but I think that I have to do something. I have to help these starving children." Emily A.

vol1 vol2 vol4

Because Kids Against Hunger is a volunteer-driven effort, there are many ways to help. Of course, the easiest way is to make a tax-deductible monetary contribution. we rely completely on donations to purchase all supplies and ingredients from vendors, and could not exist without the fianancial support of individuals, corporations, schools, clubs, and people like you.

There are also many other ways to help. When you volunteer your time or resources, we save money that can then be used to purchase additional ingredients and supplies for our life-saving meals. Some of our needs are great, some are much smaller and easier to fulfill, but every single one of them needs to be fulfilled for us to continue our fight against world starvation.

  • Package food - it is a wonderful, fulfilling way to feel that you are making a real difference! You can see the progress with each bag you package and box up. From the very young to senior citizens, any group can be involved in this process. The most effective way to help in this manner is to do fundraising. Since there is currently a high demand for food packaging sessions, and it is challenging for us to keep up and replenish the additional ingredients and supplies used, we urge all volunteers to help us cover the cost of the meals they package by bringing in a financial contribution.
    On average, each volunteer packages close to two boxes of food in a two-hour session. At $0.25 per meal, that equals $80-$100 worth of ingredients. We want to give everyone the opportunity to package our meals, but the reality is that we must also cover the cost of the ingredients. Like many nonprofit organizations, we are suffering from the effects of the current economic downturn. We realize that the donation of your time is very valuable, and don’t want to turn anyone down for lack of funding, but we have found that it is possible for each volunteer to raise at least $25 or more by asking their family, friends, and/or neighbors for support.
    We would be happy to provide you with literature and other promotional materials to support you in your fundraising efforts.
  • Consider a donation of office supplies:Sharpie markers, colors & Black, post-its, note pads, pens, tape, hand soap, dish towels, tissues, huge garbage bags
  • Do you eBay? If you are a seller, you can donate a portion of your proceeds to Kids Against Hunger by registering with Mission Fish. They handle all the details - just make sure you designate your donation to go to Kids Against Hunger.
  • Think about how often you use a search engine to search the internet. Wouldn't it be nice if you could support your favorite charity while doing so? Well, now you can by making GoodSearch your default search engine and choosing Kids Against Hunger-Sioux Falls as the default charity. You can also shop online at GoodShop (choose from more than 500 great stores incl. Amazon, Best Buy, Dell, PetSmart, and Wal-Mart) and designate Kids Against Hunger-Sioux Falls as the charity to receive a portion of the purchase price. It's that easy!
  • Make a financial contribution by clicking on the "Donate" link above.
  • You could take the big plunge and become a member of our growing network of partners and satellites.

There are countless ways to get involved and be a part of this massive campaign to end death by starvation. Can you think of another way to help? Let us know!

Thank you for your continued support of Kids Against Hunger - we can't do it without you!

vol3